top of page

Baking!

One of my earliest memories of baking is sat at the kitchen table with my mum, covered in a full oilcloth, sleeved apron, smearing chocolate onto Rich Tea biscuits, or stirring it into Rice Krispies. Since that, I’d like to think that I’ve come a long way with what I believe is certainly a talent and also a great hobby of mine - I love to bake!



The first ‘big project’ cake I ever baked, and the one that started it all, was for my dad’s 50th birthday surprise party. I purchased a Swiss Roll baking tray and completely went in blind; dropping one whole sheet pan of freshly baked cake on the floor in the process. I somehow managed to cut, mould and cover a whole 3 layer cake, have it look and taste rather decent, and be spurred on to make and create more.


The next cake from that was for my mum’s 49th birthday. With this one I tried a few new techniques; peanut brittle, chocolate sheeting. This is the cake that I definitely spent the most time on and put so much effort into. Whilst it’s not visually the most appealing bake I’ve mastered, it is the one that mattered to me the most.

I have always created ‘little’ cakes; ones that don’t have much of a detailed element to them, or that lack much intricacy for smaller occasions, family birthdays etc. My foolproof chocolate cake is always a winner, along with my lemon loaf, pistachio cookies, summer berry tray, and of course, cupcakes.











A really fun bake and one that definitely got a good reception was my boyfriend’s birthday rainbow cake. Although now through experience, I wish I had known about concentrated gel food colouring which would have added such stronger pigmentation to the colour of the sponge and would have given the whole cake much better pay off.




Much more recently, I was asked by my best friend to make a 70th birthday cake to feed 20 people, prompting me to purchase an incredible full set of wedding cake pans to allow me to get the serving sizing correct. This cake took hours. It was only the second time I’d ever covered a cake in fondant and the first time I’d ever used a tin of the size I did. I didn’t have a turn table - which I would advise any budding baker to purchase! - which would have been a lifesaver, along with a fondant roller. But, we make mistakes so we can see how we will be able to progress. I was able to create a beautiful cake that had over 200 delicate sugar flowers stuck sporadically over the whole area.




The Rosette Cake. A challenge and a definite learning curve with the SERIOUS concentration in good quality gel food colourings and the need for a good eye and patience!




The Friends cake. For my boyfriend’s 21st birthday, I couldn't not make him a Friends themed cake (this gent can recite whole episodes and that’s not even the start of it). This one took the least amount of time but allowed me to have a real play around with fondant and is definitely a favourite.




The Naked cake. Our annual village church fete called for a spectacle this year - the Strawberry supreme as it was named - and I felt challenged to provide it. I’m pleased to say that this cake took me all of about 2 and a half hours minus waiting time and I had no hiccups throughout.




I’m not one to boast about something and those who know me well enough will have knowledge of my lack confidence in most things. However, when I create cakes I feel so proud of all of the lovely compliments and comments that I receive that it only spurs me on to make more. I have an order of 60+ cupcakes and a naked wedding cake for this August and potentially a few more projects on order for the coming year. I’m so excited to see where I can take my self-taught technique and how I can only continue to learn from my own mistakes, thrive in what I become to know and continue filling happy tummies with delicate homemade sponge. I can only hope that both my Grandma and my Nanny Jack-Jack are proud of me and all that I have taught myself and am able to achieve.




bottom of page